Space Camp Hall of Fame inductees become role models

0713 TARA RD_1531535782897.jpg_48541928_ver1.0_640_360     0713 SPACE CAMP RD_1531535769801.jpg_48541927_ver1.0_640_360

This year the Rocket City is breaking down barriers. For the first time every inductee to the Space Camp Hall of Fame is a woman.

The inductees say Space Camp is what changed the course of their lives and every career decision they’ve made goes back to the first time they put on those blue Space Camp uniforms.

“It’s amazing that a decision I made when I was 14 years old now, 31 years later, I am representing the Space and Rocket Center in a way that I never conceived, never conceived was possible,” said (1991 FHS graduate) Tara Sweeney, president and chief scientific officer of Servamer Corporation.

Sweeney is the president of an advanced technology test and evaluation company. What brought her to the camp that would change her life? Space Camp, the movie.

“At the very top of those credits it said ‘filmed on location at the U.S. Space and Rocket Center in Huntsville, Alabama,'” she said. “And I turned to my parents and said, ‘This is real? This is some place that I can go?'”

You may wonder how many women characters are in this movie. It turns out some of are in starring roles.

“So it was easy to see myself as a pilot, astronaut, and someone who had to think through problems,” Sweeney said.

Read more: https://www.rocketcitynow.com/news/all-women-space-camp-hall-of-fame-inductees-become-role-models/1301705164?utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook_WZDX_Huntsville

Leave a comment